Law Enforcement AccreditationCommission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation (CFA)

In 1993, Florida Statute 943.125 directed that the Florida Sheriffs Association and the Florida Police Chiefs Association create a voluntary law enforcement accreditation program. Representatives from these Associations developed a process for accreditation that required compliance with more than 250 professional standards designed specifically for Florida law enforcement agencies.

The Commission for Florida Law Enforcement Accreditation, Inc. was formed, comprised of four sheriffs, four chiefs, and one representative each from the Association of Counties, the League of Cities, and the Judiciary. The Commission meets quarterly to oversee the accreditation program and to officially accredit agencies that have passed the rigorous review process.

Accreditation Goals

The goals of the accreditation process include increased confidence in the goals, objectives, polices and practices of the agency; the enhancement of capabilities in the prevention and control of crime; increased effectiveness and efficiency in the delivery of services; and increased cooperation with the community and other law enforcement agencies.


Agencies that choose to go through the process and comply with state standards gain professionalism and recognition. When an agency improves its methods and services, it builds understanding, confidence, and morale within the agency and with the citizens it serves. It also promotes professional relationships within the law enforcement and criminal justice communities.

The accreditation process establishes norms by which agency performance can be measured, primarily through written directives that become the reference by which action is taken and tasks accomplished. The process also develops personnel systems, such as selection, hiring, internal discipline, and others, to become effective, responsive, fair and equitable.

Hillsboro Beach Police Department was successful obtaining its first accreditation in February of 2011.